A Question and Answer session with Seung Gi about ‘Gu Family Secret’ & more – 28th March 2013

Source: http://news.nate.com/view/20130328n20667
Reported by: Hong Se Yeong from http://donga.com/ (projecthong@donga.com)
Shared by: @lsgairenint/http://lsgairenint.tumblr.com

Translated from Korean to Chinese by: yaoyao from http://leeseungki.com (Lee Seung Gi China Cafe)
Translated from Chinese to English by: @YulingSG/speciallyforlsg.livejournal.com

Q: What's the reason for your decision to act in 'Gu Family Secret'?

Seung Gi:
During the filming of 'The King 2 Hearts', I met up with Writer Kang Eun Kyung.
At that time, I promised to act in her next piece of work after 'The King 2 Hearts',
no matter what it is. Furthermore, I learnt from the news that it would be directed
by PD Shin Woo Chul, it has got more power/strength.

Q: It's your first time acting in a sageuk, do you have any burden?

Seung Gi:
For a sageuk, there's already a fixed appearance, therefore I was also worried
whether I could do it. It's also not possible to follow my own wishes about the
hairstyle, there's also limitations for the attire. Therefore, I was worried before,
but the production team has done ample preparations, making me look more
and more similar to the 'Kang Chi' in the script.

Q: Seems like you're more agile than ever?

Seung Gi:
In order to possess the outward appearance style of 'Kang Chi' character, I
worked hard. So as to appear more speedy, after deciding to act
(in 'Gu Family Secret'), I attended Action School. I practised action moves,
riding a horse, tried to familiarise myself with the character as much as
possible. I also lost around 3kg. Through this drama, I wish for people to see
me as 'Kang Chi' instead of Lee Seung Gi.

Q: How did you feel about your first shooting?

Seung Gi:
It was comfortable filming (it). At the filming site, it was like the filming
(for the dramas in the past), working well together. At the filming site, with PD
Shin Woo Chul's accurate directing, I could do even better.

Q:  Through 'Brilliant Legacy', 'My Girlfriend Is A Gumiho', 'The King 2 Hearts' and
the others, you're more active as an actor?

Seung Gi:
I think that through 'Brilliant Legacy', 'My Girlfriend Is A Gumiho', 'The King 2 Hearts'
and the others, it's a gradual developing process (for me). Through every piece of work,
I was able to learn a lot. I hope that through 'Gu Family Secret', I can present a
mature/growing side.

Q: What kind of work do you think 'Gu Family Secret' is?

Seung Gi:
It's a reality living fantasy drama. A comic/manhwa backed up with a solid story. The
script really is interesting, I can film it happily.

Q: Working together with Suzy, her charm is?

Seung Gi:
She's brimming with freshness. Suzy-ssi is the first actress whom I worked with, who is
younger than me. A 20-year-old Suzy-ssi's youthful vitality is of a big help towards filming.

Q: What's the similarity between Lee Seung Gi and 'Kang Chi'?

Seung Gi:
Our sense of uprightness is similar. However, the difference is that I'm more realistic
than 'Kang Chi'. (laughs)

Q: What do you hope to show through 'Gu Family Secret'?

Seung Gi:
The manly charm/manliness, charisma and flexibility. No matter what, as long as they are
what Lee Seung Gi has never presented before, I wish to show them.

Leave a Reply

